In accordance with the change overs made in the implementation of health and family welfare services, the implementing strategy is based on the decentralized planning at the level of PHC’s to improve the quality of health care.

The primary health care is classified into :

  • Medical and Health
  • Indian system of medicine
  • National Health Programme
  • Community participation and NGO approach

The services and the facilities are setup with an objective of achieving the goals of

  • Reducing the birth rate to 18
  • Death rate to 7
  • IMR less than 14%
  • Couple protection rate to 71

Medical & Health:</b>In order to provide the qualitative health

services many development works have been undertaken in various schemes like

  • Pradhana Mantri Grameena Yojane
  • Karnataka health system development project
  • Zilla panchayat programmes

Under this schemes 7 General hospitals, 5 Community centres, 36 Primary

health centres(15-New,21 Renovate) and 42 sub centre building are either renovated, repaired or newly constructed.

National Health Programme: Change over is made from the segregated approach to integrated approach even in the extension services of the national health programme.

Household visits of the field staff either with the weekly or fortnightly programme are made for

providing survaillance, education and treatment facilities. Especially for tackling the local health problems like ‘Handigodu” Syndrome and KFD a key watch survey under the guidance of taluka health oficers and the district survaillance officer

is made. Multi-drug theraphy for treating leprosy and T.B,there is a mobile team to treat the leprosy

patients at the door-steps. Under family welfare programme,a changeover from the segregated approach to that of

integrated approach is made under RCH programme. This means that RCH is equivalent to Family planning + CNAA +

prevention of RTI/STD and AIDS + client approach to provide family welfare and health care services.

Health interventions and the services at different level i.e district , taluk, PHC and PHU level

lie under the following headings.

  • Prevention and management of unwanted pregnancy- spacing & small family norms
  • maternal care
    • Pre-natal Services
    • Natal Services
    • delivery Services
    • Post mortem Services
  • Child survival – Immunization and prophylactic services
  • Management of reproductive tract infection and sexually transmitted diseases,HIV & AIDS

Community Participation: This is ensured with the training of elected members, teachers, anganwadi workers and even the local N.G.O’s. Strategy is target free approach and the health services are being provided according to the local needs of the community

For Further Details Contact :

District Health Officer,

District Health & Family Welfare office,


Shimoga 577 201

health checkup camp by DHO office
Pulse polio camp